The Bellingham Herald reported that a man convicted of a hit and run in Blaine, Washington has been sentenced to four years in prison. 27-year old Andrey Sergeyvich Kirichkov was driving a green pickup truck when he crashed into 53-year old Douglas Oliver Benton in January of 2015. Benton was riding a bike diagonally across the intersection of State Route 543 and H Street when the accident occurred. The accident happened around 5:30 p.m. in the evening. Benton was wearing dark clothes and had no flashing lights on his bike, but did have reflectors. He was not wearing a helmet. A witness said that Benton crossed the intersection against the red light. Kirichkov had the green light when entered the intersection and collided with Benton. Kirichkov did not stop to help him.
A few hours after the crash, Kirichkov returned to the scene of the crime. He approached a state trooper who was still there and turned himself in. At the time of the accident "Kirichkov showed no signs of being impaired," but he was driving on a suspended license. He has a history of driving offenses including two convictions for reckless driving and a number of speeding tickets. Additionally, "[s]ince 2005, he has been convicted of driving with a suspended license nine times."
Kirichkov plead guilty to in early March of 2016 to hit and run in a fatality accident. He may face additional penalties beyond jail time as he is not a United States citizen. Kirichkov is a permanent resident and has lived in the country since he was two years old. Because of his felony conviction, he could be deported.
A hit and run is a serious crime especially if it results in the bodily injury or death of a person. In Washington, hit and runs with injury or death are addressed in RCW 46.52.020. The section states, in relevant part: "(1) A driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in the injury to or death of any person or involving striking the body of a deceased person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith return to, and in every event remain at, the scene of such accident until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of subsection (3) of this section; every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary."
Subsection (3) states, again in relevant part, that drivers give their "name, address, insurance company, insurance policy number, and vehicle license number and shall exhibit his or her vehicle driver's license." In addition, drivers "shall render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the carrying or the making of arrangements for the carrying of such person to a physician or hospital for medical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such carrying is requested by the injured person or on his or her behalf."
Under RCW 46.52.020, if there is a death as a result of the hit and run accident it is considered a Class B felony under Washington law. Class B felonies are punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000. If the hit and run accident results in an injury, then it is considered a Class C felony, the maximum penalty for which is up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.