Washington DUI Penalties: Seattle-Bellevue-Everett-Tacoma

In the State of Washington, all crimes are classified by what the maximum possible penalty a judge could impose for the crime. The criminal charge of DUI is classified as a gross misdemeanor. A gross misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $5,000 fine. Some crimes, such as DUI have mandatory minimum penalties which prohibit the judge from going lower than the proscribed penalty if someone is convicted of the offense. These penalties are set by the legislature and are dependent on factors such as prior offenses, the level of the breath test or whether a person refused a breath test. The following chart sets forth the mandatory minimum penalties based upon those factors.*

This chart should only be used as a guideline for the possible penalties a judge could impose if there is a conviction for DUI. All cases vary and depending on other factors the penalties imposed could be higher.

FIRST DUI OFFENSE/ NO PRIOR DUI OFFENSE IN LAST 7 YEARS

Breath test under .15%
OR
No breath test but not a refusal

  • One day in jail minimum OR 15 days Electronic Home Detention
  • $940.50 total minimum fine w/statutory assessments
  • 90 days license suspension
  • SR-22 insurance for 3 years
  • Probationary license for 5 years after reinstatement
  • Probationary monitoring by the court for up to 5 years
  • Ignition interlock shall be required by the DOL for a minimum of 1 year
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by the court

Breath test .15% or higher
OR
Refusal to take Breath Test

  • Two days in jail minimum OR 30 days Electronic Home Detention
  • $1195.50 total minimum fine w/statutory assessments
  • 1 year license revocation for breath test over .15% or 2 year revocation if refusal
  • SR-22 insurance for 3 years
  • Probationary license for 5 years following reinstatement
  • Probation monitoring by court for up to 5 years
  • Ignition interlock shall be required by DOL for a minimum of 1 year
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by court

SECOND DUI OFFENSE/ONE PRIOR DUI OFFENSE IN LAST 7 YEARS

Breath test under .15%
OR
No breath test but not a refusal

  • 30 days in jail minimum PLUS 60 days Electronic Home Detention
  • $1,195.50 total minimum fine w/statutory assessments
  • 2 year license revocation
  • SR-22 insurance for 3 years
  • Probationary license for 5 years following reinstatement
  • Probation monitoring by court for up to 5 years
  • Ignition interlock shall be required by DOL for a minimum of 1 year, up to 5 years
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by court (up to 2 years)

Breath test .15% or higher
OR
Refusal to take Breath Test

  • 45 days in jail minimum PLUS 90 days Electronic Home Detention
  • $1,620.50 total minimum fine w/statutory assessments
  • 2 year license revocation for breath test over .15%, 3 year revocation for refusal
  • SR-22 insurance for 3 years
  • Probationary license for 5 years following reinstatement
  • Probation monitoring by court for up to 5 years
  • Ignition interlock shall be required by DOL for a minimum of 1 year, up to 5 years
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by court (up to 2 years)

THIRD DUI OFFENSE/ TWO PRIOR DUI OFFENSES IN THE LAST 7 YEARS

Breath test under .15%
OR
No breath test but not a refusal

  • 90 days in jail minimum PLUS 120 days Electronic Home Detention
  • $2,045.50 total minimum fine w/statutory assessments
  • 3 year license revocation
  • SR-22 insurance for 3 years
  • Probationary license for 5 years following reinstatement
  • Probation monitoring by court for up to 5 years
  • Ignition interlock shall be required by DOL for a minimum of 1 year, up to 10 years
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by court (up to 2 years)

Breath test .15% or higher
OR 
Refusal to take Breath Test

  • 120 days in jail minimum PLUS 150 days Electronic Home Detention
  • $2,895.50 total minimum fine w/statutory assessments
  • 4 year license revocation
  • SR-22 insurance for 3 years
  • Probationary license for 5 years following reinstatement
  • Probation monitoring by court for up to 5 years
  • Ignition interlock shall be required by DOL for a minimum of 1 year, up to 10 years
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by court (up to 2 years)

The penalties for DUI in the State of Washington are some of the highest in the country. It is important that you speak with a skilled DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.

St. Clair Defense

Ms. St. Clair has expert knowledge of the local legal system, and formidable skills in the areas of investigation, negotiation and trial. She has successfully handled tens of thousands of criminal cases from DUI’s to high profile Homicides. She can help you. She has tried over100 criminal jury trials with impressive results. You want a lawyer with her experience and record on your side.

Contact Us

You need immediate answers, straightforward advise, and someone to fight for you. Ms. St. Clair defends clients on all types of criminal and DUI matters. No one will fight harder for your rights and freedom, and few have her experience and record to back it up. Available 24/7 to assist you. Call now. (206) 578-2200

Locations: Seattle - Everett - Tacoma

Elliot

2211 ELLIOTT AVE. STE. 200
SEATTLE, WA 98121
Call for an appointment today
(206) 578-2200
Sitemap | Google +

Facebook  Twitter  Blog  Google Plus  Yelp  Linkedin